For Fun and Glory

I’ve fallen behind a bit on replying to comments. My readers are all giving me a lot to think about concerning the socio-theological subjects of my last post.

In between that sort of thinking, I’m doing some other sorts. I’m reading the book Einstein wrote explaining relativity for lay readers. He says that all you need to understand it is a high school education and a lot of patience and force of will. I think high school graduates in 1915 were better educated in Euclidian geometry, logic, mechanics and rudimentary physics than I am! So, I’m having to lean heavy on the patience and willpower. The book is called Relativity: The Special and General Theories. It’s a workout for the brain and I think it may have relevance to theology.

And then there’s the subject of poetry. Since my readers have been very encouraging and engaging on this topic of late, I’m paying attention to it in odd moments. I’ve always wanted to do a poetry exercise in which you choose the first line of a famous poem, and then write your own poem beginning with that line. So now I’m working on a poem from Shakespeare’s line “Fear no more the heat of the sun.”

If anyone would like to join me in that exercise I think it could be fun. I think, if I wasn’t doing Shakespeare, I might be doing Dr. Seuss. 🙂

I also have a few poems lined up for a series on sharing my favorite poems. Also, if you read the article on Byzantine Chant, you know that I am expecting six more installments. All in all, it looks like I should have blogging material for a good while to come.

Thanks for visiting, everyone, and thanks for your encouragement!

3 thoughts on “For Fun and Glory

Chime In!

