To Him

My beauty I will lock away;
my eager longing out of sight;
behind a star-small window lay
what used to stand watch night by night
when lately, slowly, evening came
and dread like mist arose
that I should no more find my name
within the space your lips enclose.
Few and silent tears will drain
what grief I fail thus to contain.

It is too long this time, my dear,
to suffer much sustained suspense:
My laugh will ring, my eye be clear,
my gladness be our bond’s defense;
and courage each day distill within
the selfsame cup my tea steeps in.

2 thoughts on “To Him

  1. Beautiful, sad, tender and strong, all at the same time. The flow feels like a sonnet in form, and I had to count the lines and the meter to make sure it wasn’t fourteen lines in iambic pentameter. Just the same, a sliver of living heart. Thank you, sister. Christ be with you.

    Like

Chime In!

