Respecting Another Soul

in honor of my bosom companion Emily, who has been faithful to me, and patient with me, for 15 years

Not to speak over your own best judgment in her presence, which is a blasphemy of her spirit;

not to be afraid of hurt or loss in regard to her, for she deserves better from you than fear;

not to be slavish or masterful with her, for a a false position will harm you both;

not to prophesy to her against her will;

not to forget her kindnesses to you;

***

To desire her communion with yourself, without coveting her;

to contemplate her beauty without envy;

to give scope to her gifts without using her;

to observe times and seasons, for delight, for comfort, for grief, for remembrance, and also for noisy joy and for silence;

to drink her wine and drink her company as it were wine;

to read or sing or dance or pray or weep or compose with her, with equal readiness;

to enshrine her virtues since they will outlast her faults;

to listen to her heartbeat until your own beats with it.

10 thoughts on “Respecting Another Soul

  1. Oh my dear, for dear you are, I thank God that you are a beautiful, enigmatic dew drop in the intricate spiderweb of life; effortless in its complexity, in essence seeming a bit alien to its surroundings, its very presence miraculous, and so beautiful and mysterious as to be a wonder to the greatest minds in every field.

    Here you are far too kind; your words both puzzle and answer. I hope always to live up to this portrayal.

    Love!

    Like

  2. Love ever… and deepest respect…

    …you live up to an ideal that is more than I could have said here. This is both a portrayal of you and a promise to you, and a way of learning from you for all relationships.

    Like

  3. And your dew drop description astounds me… I hardly know what to say to you. I couldn’t write something so beautiful.

    In heaven we’ll all talk like you, perhaps. For my part you seem an angel, both loving minister, and radiant other-nature, and a light that is not a force but a person, illuminating myself and others to me…

    Like

  4. I used to feel that way about men, like the decent ones were the minority. But there’s a richness in God’s kingdom, composed of persons; only I think you have to discover it like this, one person at a time.

    Like

  5. ” I used to feel that way about men, like the decent ones were the minority. But there’s a richness in God’s kingdom, composed of persons; only I think you have to discover it like this, one person at a time.”

    “I just wait patiently, and God sends them, actually…”

    So true, you just have to be patient and God gives you more than you could ever ask for.

    Like

Chime In!

