Folk Poem II: My Love Was Wondering

Video Link: Emily Boden sings ‘My Love Was Wondering’

My love was wondering where I’d gone
He sought me long and weeping
But fellow travelers had I none
Save there were cliff-vines creeping

I wished him daring by my side
And bitter was my feeling
Alone I slashed a dragon’s hide
With bats around me wheeling

At last I fell, as fall I must
For I was fighting lonely
I crashed against the planet’s crust
Nor broke my breastbone only

And then I saw him fight my foes –
He whom I’d thought craven –
High on the peak my true love strove
With bats and with a dragon

Ah love, that I had bid you go
With me as my companion!
For lonely now you strike my foe
And lonely is this canyon.

6 thoughts on “Folk Poem II: My Love Was Wondering

  1. fascinating! This one word sums it up for me.
    (But here’s some more heartspeak:)
    i also liked the last quatrain, now evoking a post comment, the subject of lines and circles, movement and stillness,,,something circular about your roundelay-the beginning or is it the end-inbetween a sole shift in perception towards a transposition of role, ironically.
    For me this poem evokes the search for love’s true companion and the nilhistic experience of being cast alone upon the field of life, also the field of action and the field of dreams..
    The I and the thou of it all , the mystery of the self and the other revealed through encounter and the dreadful possibility that there may be only one true one after all. May love surround and manifest in multitudinous ways, light our days and embalm our nights. Poetry and music bringing a beautiful
    covalency to mere speculation.

    Like

  2. Joseph,

    Indeed, they do. Speculation in itself is not nourishing, however much it may be meant to reflect on our real existance.

    I’m glad you noticed the “transposition of role” thing. I was enchanted by the idea of a female taking the traditional male role of hero, fighting dragons, etc. then failing. If the man did it then failed then admitted he needed the woman, it would evoke mere feminism. Through the woman who valiantly tries to battle alone, because she has false pity for a man she thinks she loves, we are admitted into the revelation, as you say, of the other to the self – as he, through action, is revealed to her in a flash of insight not only as her “true love” but as posessing similar bravery and purpose as herself. If neither had tried, there would be no battle and no revelation. If both had tried together it would have been better. But humans seem destined to learn through mistakes.

    I’m glad it evokes all these things to you.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the reply which sheds an interesting light on the dynamics of relationship and illuminates your verse. As a pompish aside, I think it wise to consider our options before choosing our battles/challenges. Eg. Defer though beg to differ. Some challenges perhaps should remain our private undertaking, whilst other battles are better fought together, perhaps a strategic alliance allowing each player to maintain independence, strength and integrity. Make way for the psychopomp!
    In the spirit of the carnival all speed to successful conclusions and beyond, the day of rest, reflection and thanksgiving, celebration and a sharing in the spoils of victory. Is this why Vikings go a-hiking?
    Amor Vincit Omnia!

    Like

  4. That is indeed the carnival spirit. I hope you were having as much fun as you seemed. 😉

    You’re right that there’s a wrong kind of dependance that lessens us as persons. But I find that if it’s independance I’m aiming at I usually end up squeezing my husband out of things artificially. It’s probably best to aim at neither dependance nor independance, but at union and integrity. As you say, Love conquers all.

    Like

Chime In!

